Bazár kníh za super ceny!

Unorthodox

The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots


🍌 Dodanie môže trvať viac ako 30 dní
25,32€

✅ Poštovné ZADARMO nad 39€ ✅ Knižná akcia každý mesiac ✅Výhodné ceny ✅Bezpečný nákup

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape.
The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting memoir, Deborah Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious tradition that values silence and suffering over individual freedoms.

Deborah grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

Recenzie a kritiky

Rok vydania: 2012 ISBN: 9781439187005 Rozmer: 156×235 mm Počet strán: 272 Väzba: pevná Štýl: životopisnýJazyk: angličtina

Zaradené v kategóriách